Joey’s Trip: Take One

And then there’s the action…

Joey’s been gearing up for a long awaited trip over the road with our friend, Matt. Matt drives a big rig for USA Truck and finally got the paperwork for his insurance finished.

Last weekend Joey and his family (me included) traveled to Milton, FL to have Christmas with the rest of the family. The day we came back home (Sunday) was the same day that Joey and Matt were supposed to get together and load up the truck and leave out for parts unknown. Turns out, they didn’t leave until Late Monday due to a snag in communications and a trailer for Matt to haul.

Meanwhile… I’m at the house still trying to deal with the fallout from spending loads of unadulterated time with Joey. This is always the hardest part of our relationship and it doesnt get any easier with time.

So I’m doing what I can to text him and keep in contact with him while he’s enjoying himself with Matt.

I tried, valiantly, not to cry that first night but I couldn’t help it. I always cry when he’s gone. It kills me when he leaves but I’ve killed him time and again when I have left in the past so I cannot stop him.

I certainly hope he enjoys his time out and learns if he wants to pursue this career path. I think this trip is great for him, it’ll help him gain some perspective and experience.

I’ve also noticed that it has changed his priorities…

He’s said and learned some things that I didn’t think he would, but I’m not complaining.

He also surprised me with something I didn’t think to hear from him for quite some time…

He said he was thinking about taking that ring he has and asking to marry me when he got back home.

I was all fluttery and stuttering.

Anyways–

He’s been sad and homesick since he left and he likes to call and talk to me a bunch when he gets down.

I miss him, but I’m sure he misses me even more. Makes me happy that he’s out there trying to enjoy himself some while he can. Also makes me feel good that he misses me as much as he does.

Can’t wait for him to come home though. I miss him.

About spartinlaws

I am a photographer, and I live my life the best way that I can: Happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

