Dawson William Laws March 26, 1987- February 3, 2013

Dawson William Laws

March 26, 1987- February 3, 2013

 

Dearest Brother,

As I sit here trying to write a draft of what to write for your memorial, I realize that I can’t find just the right thing to say or rhyme. I can’t make pretty words and phrases to uplift our weary souls.

I wrote up and scratched out most of a page trying to find the right words for me to say. The words won’t come, my heart can’t speak and my brain won’t think. Just as my ears won’t hear, and my eyes can’t see through the tears as they gather along the lines of my face.

These tears, they gather and spread for the selfish wishes of me and others that miss you. We all know how much easier it is for you now, but we all still wish you were here.

You sought me out years ago to express your concern for my health, as you were worried that I may develop the same issues as you. I am still grateful that you found me/us.

We were not given the chance to grow up as traditional siblings, and yet it is if we were never apart. You came into my life and gave me everything I needed. You gave me a brother. You gave me a best friend. And you brought Meaghan into my life. I love her, and loved her as soon as I talked with her that first time. You brought so much joy to my life, that I was unaware I was missing…

Knowing that I will not hear your voice calling me a midget weighs heavily upon my heart. This, all of this, is the hardest thing I have had to do. I previously said that this was the second hardest thing I have had to do, but that was only half true. This is twice as hard for me, because I am mourning you in silence.

You are always in my heart, no matter how cheesy that may sound. You have been such a big part of me and my life that it has been hard for me to realize you are in a better place.

I can’t wait to see you and hug you when we meet again in the next life.

Until then,

I love you, I always will,

Midget

 

Image

About spartinlaws

I am a photographer, and I live my life the best way that I can: Happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

