God Gave Me You– My thoughts

God Gave Me You– By Blake Shelton

I’ve been a walking heartache,  I’ve made a mess of me

The person that I’ve been lately Ain’t who I wanna be, But you stay here right beside me

This reminds me of myself about three years ago. I was graduating high school, I was about to attend college, and I was beyond hurt (on the inside). I wasn’t myself, I was changing and I felt like everything was falling apart and growing at the same time. I wasn’t the person I thought I wanted to be, and then I changed.

Watch as the storm goes through And I need you

[Chorus] God gave me you for the ups and downs, God gave me you for the days of doubt

For when I think I’ve lost my way, There are no words here left to say, it’s true God gave me you

This is how I feel about you. You came into my life when I thought all was lost and shattered. You showed me that I’m not broken, I’m not damaged. You keep me from becoming that person I don’t want to be.
[Blake Shelton – Verse 2] There’s more here than what were seeing, A divine conspiracy

That you, an angel lovely, Could somehow fall for me, You’ll always be love’s great martyr Ill be the flattered fool, And I need you 
[Chorus] God gave me you for the ups and downs, God gave me you for the days of doubt

For when I think I’ve lost my way, There are no words here left to say, it’s true God gave me you

You keep me on track, you show me how I am perfect. You tell me everyday, in your own little ways, how amazing I can be, as long as I’m with you. You show me that I am wonderful, and that I always amaze you.


[Bridge] On my own I’m only Half of what I could be I can’t do without you,

We are stitched together And what love has tethered I pray we never undo
[Chorus – Outro] God gave me you for the ups and downs, God gave me you for the days of doubt, God gave me you for the ups and downs, God gave me you for the days of doubt

For when I think I’ve lost my way, There are no words here left to say, it’s true God gave me you, gave me you Gave me you

You show me, everyday, that I am perfect the way I am. You show me that our love is true and will never waver. You have shown me that we are a team; its just me and you. You came into my life at a time that I thought there was no hope… But here we are. Almost three years later and we’re still here, fighting for our dreams and holding each other. You complete me, and I wish nothing more than the rest of my life for you.

You have shown me that there’s more to life than being bogged down with work, or school, or just stress. You have shown me what it’s like to live, to truly live. You gave me the part of me that I thought had died long ago, and brought it back into the life I need to be living. You have shown me love, when I thought I couldn’t be loved or love anyone again. You have been there for me when I thought no one could be. You’ve held my hand, you’ve wiped my tears, and you’ve confronted my fears.

You’re my other half, and there’s never going to be anyone else in this world as great as you.

About spartinlaws

I am a photographer, and I live my life the best way that I can: Happily.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

