Who are you when I’m not lookin’– my thoughts

Who Are You When I’m Not Lookin’ by Blake Shelton

 

My oh my, you’re so good-looking, Hold yourself together like a pair of bookends

But I’ve not tasted all your cooking, Who are you when I’m not looking?

Are you holding secrets? Are you holding part of yourself back?
Do you pour a little something on the rocks? Slide down the hallway in your socks?

Are you someone different when you are alone? I wanna know… What you aren’t showing me.

When you undress, do you leave a path? Then sink to your nose in a bubble bath?

Do you do little things like this when I’m not there? Am I not enough?
My oh my, you’re so good-looking, Hold yourself together like a pair of bookends

But I’ve not tasted all your cooking, Who are you when I’m not looking?
I wanna know I wanna know….

I wanna know, Do you break things when you get mad? Eat a box of chocolates ’cause you’re feelin’ bad? Do you paint your toes ’cause you bite your nails?

What do you do when your defenses are down… what are you showing that I can’t see? Tell me these secrets I’d like to see.

Call up momma when all else fails? Who are you when I’m not around?

Do you talk to others but not to me? What am I not doing to make you see me?

When the door is locked and the shades are down?

Do you listen to your music quietly? And when it feels just right, are you thinkin’ of me?

Are you thinking of me, when I’m not around? Why aren’t you telling me…?
I wanna know I wanna know I wanna know
My oh my, you’re so good-looking, But who are you when I’m not looking?

Who are you when I’m not lookin’… You are so beautiful but there’s more to see. Beneath your skin and outward persona, there’s more there for me to see, to find, and to kiss. I want to see what you don’t show everyone else. I want to be that part of you that no one else gets to see. I want to have those treasures that you keep from everyone else, and I want to share the memories you won’t let loose. Won’t you let me in, my dear? Let me see the parts of you; that you keep hidden?

I love this song, as you can see. 🙂 Just felt like I needed to write something on it.

About spartinlaws

I am a photographer, and I live my life the best way that I can: Happily.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

